PDA

View Full Version : Get the cheque book out ....

kernowboy
02-24-2007, 04:26 AM
From MSN Foxsports

Patrick Kerney, the one-time Pro Bowl defensive end for the Falcons, said his days with the team appear finished. (http://www.ajc.com/sports/content/sports/falcons/stories/2007/02/22/0223kerney.html) "Unfortunately, there is the business side of things," Kerney said in a phone interview Thursday. "I always said since I was a rookie, if Joe Montana didn't finish his career with the San Francisco 49ers, there's no guarantee I'll finish my career with the Atlanta Falcons." Atlanta projects to have roughly $10 million to spend in free agency, which probably would not be enough to retain Kerney and fortify other positions of need. The Falcons and Kerney have been in contract talks for months, but Kerney said it's unlikely an accord will be reached before free agency starts March 2.

If we are to be serious contenders this is a guy we MUST make a run at.

We hugely upgrade LE, with a high achieving, hard working character guy, that will immediately be a colossal upgrade. Has played both DE and LB in a 3-4 and was a former lacrosse player so as hard as nails.

The defence needs real leadership, a guy who doesn't *****, moan, runs to the press, but simply commands huge respect.

A sack average of over 7 a year or 1 every other game he has started isn't too shabby either.

Would happily give him a $24m, 4 year deal ... add him and Napolean Harris and maybe we can look at the offence in the draft

alohabillsfan
02-24-2007, 04:42 AM
I really do not see the diff. between him and Kelsay, and I predict Kelsay to have a better 2007.

kernowboy
02-24-2007, 05:58 AM
Patrick Kerney v Chris Kelsay = no difference? Have you been inhaling again?

Kelsay:- 14 NFL sacks (3.5 per year); 161 tackles (40 per year); 42 out of 64 starts; most sacks in a season 6

Kerney:- 58 NFL sacks (7.25 per year); 356 tackes (44.5 per year); 102 out of 121 possible starts; most sacks in a season 13