PDA

View Full Version : what is the "associated press"?

Tatonka
03-13-2003, 09:42 PM
i always see *insert name here* of the associated press says so and so..

what the hell is that anyway?:duel:

lordofgun
03-13-2003, 09:44 PM
It's a group of news reporters/photographers that go around and report on things. They are then paid dues by smaller newspaper, etc. to let them use their story in their newspaper / magazine / website, etc.

It's a way for small-town newspaper and other media to save money and still have something to print.

Tatonka
03-13-2003, 09:49 PM
oic.. how do i join? :D

Fatwhite02
03-13-2003, 10:58 PM
I am a journalist major. The AP is usually a group of journalists that are recent college grads. They report on a story and put it on what they call the wire. When a newspaper needs to fill space, they go to the wire and get one of these stories.

TigerJ
03-13-2003, 11:08 PM
I don't think that it is only small town newspapers who use the associated press. If something happens in Butte Montana that is newsworthy, the Buffalo News might want a story, but they're not going to fly a reporter out there to write something first hand. They'll print the AP story. It just makes economic sense. I would wager the NY Times and Washington Post, print AP stories.

lordofgun
03-14-2003, 12:05 AM
Originally posted by TigerJ
I don't think that it is only small town newspapers who use the associated press. If something happens in Butte Montana that is newsworthy, the Buffalo News might want a story, but they're not going to fly a reporter out there to write something first hand. They'll print the AP story. It just makes economic sense. I would wager the NY Times and Washington Post, print AP stories.

Exactly right.

Tatonka
03-14-2003, 12:09 AM
thats pretty cool.. never knew all that..

"kodi dog of the associated press reports tatonka is about to go smoke and then take a duece. he has been quoted as saying, "smoke the smoke to induce the duece""