PDA

View Full Version : Offensive line game greakdown

TigerJ
08-19-2007, 08:41 PM
I'm no expert on offensive line play, but over on the forums at BB.com, there is a guy who allegedly has some expertise in this area. He breaks down the play of the starting offensive line for the preseason games in detail. If he's right, it's pretty enlightening, I thought.

1) Inside zone- great push by Walker, Whittle to give Lynch a nice cutback lane. Penalty on ATL-5yds.

2) Counter- Walker was to high and didnt get push, Good job by Whittle in getting a good push but lost his man a bit late. Preston did a good job to get to the 2nd level. Dockery had a good shot on his guy but stopped his feet and lost him late.

3) Swing Pass- Good aggressive blocking by whittle and Dockery, Walker nice pass protection, Preston flat footed and got beat to the inside. Peters did a nice job of recognizing the blitz and picking it up.

4) Zone Left- Entire line did a good job in executing their assignments and getting push and/or getting downfield. +5yds by lynch.

5) Shotgun Pass- Preston burries head vs blitzing LBer and lost him late after contact, Great job by Lynch in picking up Blitz. Good pass protection from Dockery, Whittle Peters and Walker. + 36yds to Evans.

6) 5 Step Drop- Everett gets bull rushed into JP and JP scrambles. Good job by Walker, Whittle and Preston to collapse the line. Peters gets called for holding, didnt need to hold him though. He stopped his feet for a split second and the DE got the edge. IF Peters continues to run the guy towards the outside instead of grabbing his shoulder its a good play by Peters.

7) Zone left- Play was checked into the blitzing lbers/safties. Bad check down by JP. Line seemed confused and didnt look like they were all on the same page.