PDA

View Full Version : The problem with keeping guys for ST ability

OpIv37
09-23-2007, 03:39 PM
is that with a couple of injuries, you're forced to abandon the base D and play nickel the entire game.

Which might not be a big deal, except that we already had two CB's and a S injured, and this was after losing our best CB to FA in the off-season.

So, even with 3 injuries, our DB situation was STILL better than our LB situation and playing nickel as our base D was the best option.

AAAARRRRGGH! I don't know how anyone can deny that there are wholesale problems with how this organization is managed.

OpIv37
09-23-2007, 07:17 PM
no thoughts on this?

I really thing we burned ourselves- anyone still think it was a good idea to trade Spikes?

Typ0
09-23-2007, 07:28 PM
I've been saying this for two years now and think it's been ignored. Special teams are a luxury that should never detract from offense and defense like it has on this team. Let's be real, how long are special teams on the field compared to the other two units. People rave about how good our special teams are but it doesn't mean squat in terms of wins and losses when you can't stop the run and put up points!

Nighthawk
09-23-2007, 08:14 PM
is that with a couple of injuries, you're forced to abandon the base D and play nickel the entire game.

Which might not be a big deal, except that we already had two CB's and a S injured, and this was after losing our best CB to FA in the off-season.

So, even with 3 injuries, our DB situation was STILL better than our LB situation and playing nickel as our base D was the best option.

AAAARRRRGGH! I don't know how anyone can deny that there are wholesale problems with how this organization is managed.

I've been saying this for awhile. It just doesn't make sense to keep so many ST players who can't actually play football when called upon.

YardRat
09-23-2007, 08:16 PM