PDA

View Full Version : Roughing the Punter

G Wolly
12-23-2007, 04:09 PM
Am I the only one who thinks this call is BS most of the time?

I mean like today, when Whitner dove to block the punt he hit the punter before the punter even touched the ground.

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure once you're diving through the air you can't just stop. I understand the point of make sure you can block the ball if you dive at the punter, but there's just some things that can't be helped.

LtFinFan66
12-23-2007, 04:10 PM
take the proper angle and it doesn't happen

YardRat
12-23-2007, 04:11 PM
That was a legit call...Whitner took the wrong angle, missed the ball, and smoked Feagles in the knee.

chernobylwraiths
12-23-2007, 04:13 PM
That was a legit call...Whitner took the wrong angle, missed the ball, and smoked Feagles in the knee.

I only got one view of it, but it looked a bit like a dive. He got him, but looked like he embellished a bit.

G Wolly
12-23-2007, 04:13 PM
Alright I get the wrong angle thing now I guess.

But unless it was intentional/blatantly obvious, I think it shouldn't be called.

chernobylwraiths
12-23-2007, 04:15 PM

But unless it was intentional/blatantly obvious, I think it shouldn't be called.

It isn't usually called unless he the punter gets blasted. I thought it was a glancing blow and that usually means a five yard running into the kicker penalty.

Historian
12-23-2007, 04:16 PM
Best acting job since Morgan Freeman in Million Dollar Baby.

Hard Nose Football
12-23-2007, 04:17 PM
That was an obvious call.

How the hell Witner missed the ball was what was amazing on that play.

YardRat
12-23-2007, 04:21 PM
It isn't usually called unless he the punter gets blasted. I thought it was a glancing blow and that usually means a five yard running into the kicker penalty.

I haven't seen a replay of it since immediately after, but it looked to me like Whitner gave him a pretty good helmet to the knee.

chernobylwraiths
12-23-2007, 04:22 PM