PDA

View Full Version : Larry Felser: Losman’s presence gives Bills good early prognosis

shelby
08-24-2008, 06:44 AM
It's not a tumor...

It’s an old baseball cliche, but it applies to football also: Some of the best trades are the ones that aren’t made.
The wisdom of the Buffalo Bills’ decision not to make a foolish trade involving J. P. Losman at the time of the college draft in April was borne out last week when starting quarterback Trent Edwards suffered a deep thigh bruise in a collision with running back Marshawn Lynch near the end of a practice session. Edwards will miss to-night’s preseason game.
Dick Jauron delivered the usual coach’s prognosis of an injury like the one suffered by Edwards. I’m a skeptic when any coach talks about injuries involving his key players. Coaches’ diagnoses are usually one part optimism and another part subterfuge.
The Bills have one more preseason game after tonight. In any case the final exhibition is usually a “don’t-get-hurt” game. I doubt if we will see Edwards in uniform until the opening game here in 14 days, if then. The opponent will be the Seattle Seahawks, who have the fastest defense in the NFL, a unit that allowed only 15 touchdown passes a year ago and dogs enemy quarterbacks relentlessly.
Deep thigh bruises don’t usually heal quickly. The Bills cannot afford to have Edwards playing at anything less than 100 percent. Seattle’s left defensive end is Patrick Kerney, who led the NFC in sacks last season with 14z. Kerney has a reputation for performing like a buzz saw on every play.

full story (http://www.buffalonews.com/sports/billsnfl/story/422015.html)

Novacane
08-24-2008, 07:49 AM
Edwards will be ready week 1 Larry.

Yasgur's Farm
08-24-2008, 07:50 AM
Good read Shelby.