PDA

View Full Version : Time to get the LG in Order ASAP

ghz in pittsburgh
03-07-2009, 07:11 PM
Talent wise WR corp is a lot better today then any time we had since the Moulds and price days. The O-Line, we know Peters can play better, Butler should be better with one more year experience. The new center theoretically should be better than anyone we had last year. You hope our RT plays to the same level again. I also have confidence in our RBs' pass protection level - both Lynch and Jackson improved a great deal in this area last year. That leaves the LG a big hole right now.

I have a feeling that Chambers may be better than Dockery in pass protection, but we need someone to fill the LG hole in overall capacity to be at least Dockery's level last year.

LifetimeBillsFan
03-07-2009, 07:43 PM
I agree that LG now has to become the Bills' top priority. Whether by trade or by signing a FA, the Bills must solidify the offensive line to take advantage of the TO signing.

Even if TO has lost a step and isn't the player that he has been in the past, he is a player that will command respect from the opposing defense and open things up for the offense. Fine, who should take a step up in his second season in the league, and even a rookie TE, like Pettigrew or Nelson, can take advantage of this, not just Evans and the Bills' slot receivers.

But, Edwards can't make the throws if he is on his butt or getting pressure in his face every time he drops back to pass. Butler can play better than he did last season, which was only his second as a starter, with better support from the other interior linemen. Hangartner should be an improvement over Fowler and Preston, who were horrid. But, the Bills now MUST bring in a LG who can solidify the center of the line. A trade for Waters would definitely do that. A healthy Kendall Simmons would, too. But, so would Goff or Pete Kendall.