PDA

View Full Version : I'm not seeing what a lot of you do in Harris

patmoran2006
08-17-2009, 08:25 AM
I, like many others on here and in other forums, am a big fan of Nic Harris. He has shown toughness and the potential to be a playmaker in this defense.
However, unlike most people, I don’t think he’s very close to taking Keith Ellison’s starting job. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to see someone take Ellison’s spot, but Harris isn’t ready.

Perhaps going back to watch the Bears game should be in order. Harris was burned badly in pass coverage twice. Once in the second quarter that led to a 30 yard Desmond Clark completion, and he left his guy in the flat on the Chicago touchdown later in the game to pursue the quarterback (a big no-no in cover two defense.)

The Bills by nature run a very conservative type of defense. “Bend don’t break” certainly applies to this unit. For many reasons, but none more than simply being a rookie, I don’t think Harris starts this year, barring injury. As much as I don’t like Ellison, I’m positive the Bills are more comfortable with him on their defense, especially their pass defense- at this time at least.

Mahdi
08-17-2009, 08:35 AM
I, like many others on here and in other forums, am a big fan of Nic Harris. He has shown toughness and the potential to be a playmaker in this defense.
However, unlike most people, I don’t think he’s very close to taking Keith Ellison’s starting job. Don’t get me wrong, I’d love to see someone take Ellison’s spot, but Harris isn’t ready.

Perhaps going back to watch the Bears game should be in order. Harris was burned badly in pass coverage twice. Once in the second quarter that led to a 30 yard Desmond Clark completion, and he left his guy in the flat on the Chicago touchdown later in the game to pursue the quarterback (a big no-no in cover two defense.)