PDA

View Full Version : Feel this deserves a separate OLine thread

Oaf
12-18-2009, 10:53 PM
(I'm no expert here. Just a student of the game, former player, that has watched each Bills snap this season. Initially a response to X-Era's recent thread)

While many consider our current line to have some upside, the majority of the players we have used are fringe NFL players and have not displayed any sort of "flash" beyond flashes of inconsistency. Shown below is the reviewal of those who played in 2009, each player's outlook for 2010, the implications of the 2010 outlook, and then recommendations/conclusion based on the implications for the optimal amount of change. A progressive (as opposed to conservative) approach is taken.

In my mind,
Hang has ranged between serviceable (read: Trey Teague) to slightly above serviceable. I believe this will be a constant.
Levitre is the only player on the line who has shown the capability to be brilliant at his position. Wood showed this to a limited degree but his leg has complicated his potential for an excellent 2010 campaign.
Scott joins Kiwi Mitchell as the two players that should never be in the starting lineup again.
Bell's only saving grace has been the play of Scott, he's merely been the lesser of two evils (plus he's got the injury excuse as well).
Butler's play has been solid, but with his tendency for injury (documented since the draft), he's been even less useful than Scott (and that's saying a lot).
Jury is out on Meredith. Certainly his breakdowns are the most justified because of his rawness and I've actually liked what I've seen. I don't know if he can or should start 2010 but he's a good developmental player that should stick around after the axe falls.
You could do worse (and slightly better) than Chambers in the reserve tackle spot. A worthy 1st or 2nd lineman off the bench as a stopgap. Miles ahead of McKinney.