PDA

View Full Version : Mock Draft 1.0

Mahdi
02-01-2010, 02:54 PM
1. St. Louis Rams - Jimmy Clausen - QB - Notre Dame - Many will question this pick with Suh and McCoy as options but the NFL is and will always be a QB driven league and the Rams currently don't have one. What they do have however is a rock solid Offensive Line, a top 5 RB in the NFL and an up and coming WR in Donnie Avery. Clausen will do very well in interivews, tests on the drawing board and his pro-day, and all that will convince the Rams that he is their choice. It should be noted that just because Clausen is taken first it does not mean that he is the top prospect in the draft. Stafford and Alex Smith are proof of that.

2. Detroit Lions - Ndamukong Suh - DT - Nebraska - Jim Shwartz is a DL coach by trade and Suh is the top player available in the draft. This pick is a no-brainer and instantly upgrades the Lions woeful DL. For those that expect a OT here the Lions coaching staff has heavily supported the play of Jeff Backus at LT and even went as far as to say that he should be in the Pro-Bowl. I don't know about that nugget but what is certain is that the Lions DL at this point is light years behind their OL.

3. Tampa Bay Buccaneers - Gerald McCoy - DT - Oklahoma - Another perfect fit for a team desperate to fix their DL. McCoy is a quick penetrating DT that gets into the backfield in a hurry which is what Tampa has typically been known for. McCoy instantly becomes the best player on the Bucs defense so his talents may not be evident until he is surrounded with better players.

4. Washington Redskins - Sam Bradford - QB - Oklahoma - Shanahan will not want to waste any time getting his young QB which will only delay his success. Bradford comes into a good situation with talent already on the roster at the skill positions with Cooley, Thomas, Davis, Moss, Kelly and Portis. The OL can use an upgrade for sure but the QB position in this draft is thin and the OL prospects are deep.