PDA

View Full Version : Gailey likes the competition(s) brewing.

patmoran2006
06-16-2010, 03:00 PM
The Buffalo Bills continue to get their work in collectively as a team at OTA and following practice today, head coach Chan Gailey spoke to the media on a variety of topics, including the situation at running back and quarterback as well as Aaron Schobel, the offensive line and good competition at linebacker.

While Gailey will never be mistaken for Jim Mora or Dick Vermeil, his honesty and willingness provide detailed answers to questions is a far cry from the days of Dick Jauron. In fact, I can’t even explain the differences in words—kind of sad considering I’m a writer (of sorts).

Anyway, as expected a majority of the questions Gailey fielded centered around Marshawn Lynch and how the running back situation is expected to play out over the summer.

Naturally, Gailey is glad to have Lynch finally in camp, though he admits the beleaguered pro has plenty of catching up to do.

“We’re glad to have as many players as we can get,” Gailey told the media. “The more we work together, the better football team we are. So it’s always good to have a good football player back working on the football team.”

But again, Gailey reiterated that two practices with his teammates don’t have Lynch up to full speed.

“Both on the field and off the field he has some catching up to do,” he said. “But it seems like he’s a quick study. That’s what it looks like in my initial look at him. So I think he’ll be all right in that respect.”

Gailey admits he’s never had the luxury of having three talented running backs on the roster quite like this.

“I’ve never really been in this situation where we have three like this,” Gailey said. “But I certainly am looking forward to seeing how it all pans out because I think you have a chance to give defenses some real problems with that many good running backs and football players.”