PDA

View Full Version : McGahee's deal with Bills a tough one

MDFINFAN
06-28-2003, 11:03 AM
I went back though your threads since I've only been here since June, and I couldn't find any posts on this, but if you guys have already debated this, sorry, but I thought it a fair question to ask, if you draft a player in the 1st round and you know he has a injury, do you still pay him 1st round money in the slot he was drafted..I say yes, because you knew the deal..what do you guys think?

Here's the article, it's old, but it's my first time seeing it, and I guess it made me think about it for a moment.

McGahee's deal with Bills a tough one (http://www.democratandchronicle.com/sports/bills/0430story1_bills.shtml)

SamAdamsFan
06-28-2003, 11:54 AM
I think you have to pay him first round money that he is due. Maybe less of it can be guaranteed than if he was healthy, but he would probably expect large incentives that would pay him as a top 5 pick down there road were he to recover. That way the Bills don't lose a lot if his injury ends his career and at the same time Willis will be happy. The pay would also be worth if for the
Bills if Willis can play again. You can't just offer a real low offer that a second rounder or lower would get, because then Willis would be insulted and could just hold out and make himself eligible for the draft next year. If that happened and he was healthy by then, he most likely would be selected much higher and recieve a lot more guaranteed money.

Dozerdog
06-28-2003, 01:10 PM
It's going to be heavily incentive laden. Mcgahee will be a wealthy guy if he recovers, but don't expect a stock lump of money for his draft position.

What's he going to do? Hold out? This plays directly into the Bills hands.

The Bills will treat him fairly, but he's not going to rake in the moolah without prooving himself. Even WMcG realizes that. The Bill already have made that leap of faith by selecting him in the 1st round.

mypoorfriendme
06-28-2003, 01:36 PM