• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Mr. Miyagi
    Lecter's Little *****

• Sep 2002

Coples scouting report

Correct me if I'm wrong, since I'm no scouting expert. But reading Coples' scouting report reminds me of Maybin.

Coples:

Strengths: Prototypical measurables, including long arms – Flashes the ability to dominate a game and dictate how the offensive line makes their calls – Excellent first-step – Has the ability and power to deliver a crushing club move – Can anchor against the run – Incredible potential – Has some versatility, could play 4-3 DE, 3-4 DE if he bulks up a bit, or kick inside on passing downs, he even stands up on occasion.

Weaknesses: Still a work in progress rushing the passer, needs to diversify his rush movesContent to be blocked at times, should have more production – Can improve his hand use in disengaging from blockersShould get his long arms up when not applying pressure – Needs to keep his pad level more consistent.

Maybin 2009:

Positives: Tall with a frame to add a needed 10-15 pounds of muscle in his upper body. Superior quickness off the snap on wide rushes. Combines speed and length to challenge offensive tackles in passing situations. Very good straight-line speed to chase plays down the line or hustle downfield. Keeps cut blocks off his knees, recovers and maintains balance. Great length and vertical to affect passing lanes. Dropped into zone coverage often, got into his zone in a hurry when decisive. Breaks down in space and can change direction in the backfield to handle cutbacks and misdirection. Improving his hand usage as a pass rusher.