PDA

View Full Version : What does cash to cap mean?

BertSquirtgum
01-10-2012, 01:18 PM
Buddy Nix mentioned spending all the cash to cap. What the hell does that mean? Does that mean he can spend all he wants up to the cap or just a certain amount?

BLeonard
01-10-2012, 01:25 PM
I'm not a cap expert or anything, but how I understand it is this:

Let's say the NFL cap is $100 million.

Now, the Bills sign a player for a 3 year deal, that has a $15 million signing bonus. The NFL cap would spread that out over the duration of the deal... So:

2012: $5 mil
2013: $5 mil
2014: $5 mil

So, the bonus would only count $5 mil on each year's cap.

The Bills, using "cash to the cap," do not spread the bonuses out, so all $15 mil counts on the first year of the deal. Which means, in their eyes, they only have $85 mil left to spend ($100 mil cap - $15 mil). The NFL would say they have $95 mil left to spend ($100 mil cap - $5 mil counted this season).

So, right there, the Bills would essentially be handicapping themselves $10 million.

Hopefully that makes sense. I'm sure a capologist can explain it better, but that's pretty much the gist of it.

-Bill

BertSquirtgum
01-10-2012, 01:31 PM
So basically the Bills have their own cap. Not the cap of the NFL which is 120$ million I believe. If true, what I get from that is the Bills are limiting themselves on being able to get players in free agency and signing their own. Pretty stupid if you ask me.

Ickybaluky
01-10-2012, 01:35 PM
So, right there, the Bills would essentially be handicapping themselves $10 million

Comes out in the wash, though.

In your example, yes they count the extra $10 in the current year, but they have $10M less they account for in future years.

Basically, they are willing to spend actual cash to the cap, not the accounting figure. In the long run, it is the same.

People make a lot of this, but really most teams have budgets. Most businesses do as well. In the end the how is as important as the how much.