PDA

View Full Version : Potential Coaches and their Braintypes

Banks2Pierce
01-05-2013, 04:30 PM
This may seem like crazy talk, and that's fine if you think that, but I think the Bills should be making their coaching choice based on brain typing. I am a student of Niednagel and his brain types and he's been spot on about many things. Most famously, he picked out Leaf as a bust and Manning as a future star. The Manning part easy, but the Leaf was a bold choice and he was calling it out before the draft. I've typed the recently fired coaches over the last decade or so and I fear we may be going in the wrong direction. I haven't had Chip or the Broncos OC on my radar so haven't had time to type them yet, but if anyone cares I might try them as well. Apologies for the lack of organization, but it's my INFP type(Dungy.)

As a background, they have good descriptions of the types on this page here: http://www.personalitypage.com/html/portraits.html . Maybe you could even type yourself. There are 16 types. Extrovert vs. Introvert. Sensate(see in the moment) vs. iNtuitive(see big picture). Feeler vs. Thinker. Perceiver(flexible) vs. Judger(rigid).

Chan's type was ENTP. Very intelligent, but they often aren't the best head coaches. Best used as coordinators. Romeo Crennel was also an ENTP. Rex Ryan as well: keep in mind that this is 70% nature and 30% the environment you grew up/live in.

I happen to think the best in the league is Belichick. He is an ENTJ. Some notable ENTJs are Gruden, Steve Young, Marv Levy, both Harbaugh sons, Jack Kemp, Vince Lombardi.

Lovie Smith : ENFP. Stay away! People get behind them emotionally because they are good motivators, but they aren't good with the details and x's and o's. No real history of long term coaching success in the NFL.