PDA

View Full Version : Owner - Player meetings

Topas
09-23-2016, 06:27 AM
I just listened to Mike Francesca's 10 min rant. And that got me thinking. One of his main points is that it is stupid as an owner to meet with the players without the coach. Because the players will never blame themselves but always one or all of the coaches.

What do you think? What would do as an owner.

Topas
09-23-2016, 06:33 AM
Actually, I would definitely do it. And if I am new to the business I would do it twice as often.

Of course the players will not blame themselves. But the same is true for the coaches. They will also never blame themselves. And I would like to make sure that I get the whole picture. I dont want to get lied to by the head coach. Talking to everybody helps in that respect.

Two disclaimers:
First, I would tell both coaches and players that this is my modus operandi. So it would not be behind the back of the coach. But actually I think this was true for the Bills also.
Second, I would try to meddle as few as possible. Meaning doing nothing or almost never anything during the season. But it would help me do informed decisions after the season. And it would improve my learning curve.

What would you do?

Forward_Lateral
09-23-2016, 06:37 AM
If it's true, this franchise is doomed. Meddling owners never have teams that win Superbowls. Jerry Jones might be the exception, but I don't think he meddled when Jimmy Johnson was head coach. I don't think Jimmy would allow it.

This franchise is a sinking ship, and Pegula has no freaking idea what he's doing, IMO.

Topas
09-23-2016, 06:45 AM
I would guess more owners are meddling than we think. I guess one of the most respected and successful owners was highly involved and talked to all players:
Eddie DeBartolo Jr

And that means that you are very suspectable to susceptible to lies from your coach.

Historian
09-23-2016, 06:54 AM