• Time
  • Show
Clear All
  • Dr. Lecter
    Zero for Zero!
    • Mar 2003

Zone update

Hi all

I finally have a few minutes and wanted to go into a little more detail about what is happening with the site

Obviously a few weeks ago we had a major failure that took us down for a number of days. As usual when this happens I reached out to the host to help get it back. Previously this had been a quick fix on their end. Something like a re-boot of the server would get us up and running, or in the worst case we needed to run some fixes on database tables and we are all good. That was not the case this time.

Based on what the host has told me (and while I understand the basics of how a place like this runs, I am by no means an expert), there was a significant hardware failure which was at very least preventing the OS from loading and running. One concern that popped up was there question to me "do you happen to have a back up of the database?". Which, of course I do not since they are the host. I did tell them that we expected them to be maintaining back ups since that is a rather fundamental part of hosting a site. After some time they told me that they found the data and we would be restored. (and they will be running a backup routine from now on)