PDA

View Full Version : Learning To Play The Guitar

BAM
05-17-2004, 06:56 PM
So I have some spare time now that it's summer time and I want to get better at the guitar. I had been taking a teach-yourself course my brother gave me but it's whack.

Does anyone have a recommendation to something online maybe? I'll pay for one I just don't really want to go to a class or anything, I'd rather learn it myself.

Thanks in advance! :rocker:

The_Philster
05-17-2004, 07:03 PM
I'm sure LOG has something he could sell you. :snicker:

BAM
05-17-2004, 07:12 PM
I don't need another guitar I have 3 already. :snicker2:

honey
05-17-2004, 07:19 PM
My kid wants a guitar - log promised whoever won the Apprentice game a guitar - wonder if he'll follow through? :D

BAM
05-17-2004, 07:22 PM
:idunno:

Bill Brasky
05-17-2004, 09:01 PM
I have been playing guitar for 12 years... before that I played bass for a year... I got bored with guitar and now I'm teaching myself drums and drumming in a band at the same time.

My advice to you is to keep teachin yourself man... it's not to difficult and after a while your ear will start picking up the tiniest things in guitar riffs... teaching yourself is far better than going to classes. I quit taking guitar lessons after the 3rd one because I wasn't learning anything I didn't already know. I don't know of anything online that could help but if you ever need assistance, etc. just PM me bro... ROCK OUT.

The Natrix
05-17-2004, 10:58 PM
yeah, now that the cost of lessons would be coming out of your own pocket, don't take them. I took lessons from about 12-14 and didn't really learn much that I couldn't have learned on my own as far as scales and what not. The biggest thing I picked up from my teacher though, was his sense of style and improvisation. He is an awesome Jazz guitarist.