PDA

View Full Version : Don't Count Out Brick Coming To Buffalo

patmoran2006
01-29-2006, 03:59 PM
http://graphics.fansonly.com/photos/schools/va/galleries/02FootballPhotos/g-isiahjohnson.jpg
Bills fans have pronounced all over the Internet who is at the top of their draft day wish list and the consensus is a Brick... as in D'Brickshaw Ferguson.

Picking eighth, my initial thought was that Bills fans are delusional thinking that Brick is going to fall all the way down to number eight. He's the irrefutable top lineman in the draft and some scouts say he may be the next Walter Jones.

But a funny thing happened as I studied the draft position and needs of the seven teams selecting before the Bills. I started noticing scenarios where Brick could end up in Buffalo.

Let's examine:

* For starters, you can do away with three teams from taking him. Houston, New Orleans and Tennessee have the first three selections and Reggie Bush, Matt Leinhart and Vince Young will fill those spots in some order.

* You can eliminate the Raiders (6th) and San Francisco (7th) from grabbing him. Both teams have huge contracts already tied into tackles; Jonas Jennings with the 49ers and Robert Gallery with Oakland. Both clubs have many other needs and neither is going to pay two tackles a franchise salary.
That leaves the New York Jets at four and Green Bay at five as the two biggest threats.

The Jets have a left tackle in Adrain Jones they like and with oft-injured John Abraham a free agent, will be enamored with defensive end prospect Mario Williams. They also have a necessity at running back (though there are none worth taking fourth overall) as well as other holes. That's not to say that Brick isn't an option here, but it's far from a lock.