PDA

View Full Version : the ryan pickett bandwagon

djjimkelly
03-07-2006, 09:20 AM
im about to hitch my trailer to the ryan picket bandwagon as a ket free agent i would like the bills to sign. as the market for DT's had been set with the signing or laroi glover for about a 4 mil per year avg. i think we get go get picket for a little less then that maybe 3 per year.

check out this guys numbers.

DEFENSIVE STATS

Year Team G Total Tckl Ast Sacks Int Yds Avg Lg TD Pass Def
2001 St. Louis Rams 11 19 10.0 9 0.5 0 0 0.0 0 0 0
2002 St. Louis Rams 16 67 45.0 22 0.5 0 0 0.0 0 0 4
2003 St. Louis Rams 16 42 30.0 12 1 0 0 0.0 0 0 3
2004 St. Louis Rams 16 45 41.0 4 2 0 0 0.0 0 0 2
2005 St. Louis Rams 16 65 47.0 18 2 0 0 0.0 0 0 3
TOTAL 75 238 173.0 65 6 0 0 0.0 0 0 12

http://www.nfl.com/players/playerpage/235235

he is a tackle making machine and seems to be arounf the ball all the time. and there is no way anyone can argue these tackles are down field hes a DT.

i think this would be a great fit and solid pickup!!!

ryjam282
03-07-2006, 09:27 AM
I agree, I have liked him for some time now. I drafted in our own BZFL and he is really producing. I think he would be a great fit for us. A young, athletic DT with decent speed.

BULLDOG53
03-07-2006, 09:31 AM
I like the idea of Pickett if we can get him at a decent price, he would be a good fit for the 4-3 defense Jauron likes to run. It would also be a good idea to get a top pass rusher, Via trade or Draft.

patmoran2006
03-07-2006, 09:42 AM
Granted health is a big issue...

But lets see.. Pickett = 5 years.75 games. 6 sacks.. 1 forced fumble. ($3 million maybe more to sign)

Ron Edwards.. = 5 years, 48 games, 7 sacks, 3 forced fumbles (half of Pickett's price)

I'll give you Pickett's a more established run stopper, but is he $2 million a year better?

Save the $2 million.. Resign Edwards, make sure he stays healthy, draft a DT 1st and use the cash saved on the OL, which needs it most.

gr8slayer
03-07-2006, 09:51 AM