PDA

View Full Version : Pro Sports (Including Hockey) Will Eventually Eat Itself

Ð
02-04-2003, 07:03 AM
Don't get me wrong, I'm a big pro sports fan.
I grew up going to about every 5th Maple Leafs home Game, have been to NHL games in Montreal, Philly, Ottawa, Tampa and Buffalo. I used to go see the Blue Jays at least once a month, including playoffs and World Series games. I've also gone to at least one NFL game a year, usually in Buffalo at least once a year & have been to AFC playoff games, AFC Championship games and NFC playoff games.

My argument is that all pro sports, have priced themselves out of the spending range of most families. For example, NHL hockey, with an average ticket price of $50 has crossed the threshold of being completely unaffordable for the average family. Baseball...if you go to Skydome to see the Blue Jays, nosebleed seats are in the $30 range, and they're around the $40-50 avg ticket price now. Football's a little easier to swallow, if you only attend one game a year at around the $40-$50 range for tickets. Someone on this message board had posted that the all star game is for the kids. Check out the prices for these babys & tell me that you're gonna send your kid....http://www.primeseattickets.com/nhl/nhl_allstar_tickets.html

For a family of four, you're looking at a $300/night minimum for any pro sports event, once you factor in all the other costs (food/parking/souvenirs, etc.) I make good money, but I'll be damned if I'll put that amount of money in the pockets of these multi-millionaire clowns. $300 could buy me a weekend at a nice resort with my family. $300 could buy 3 DVD players or a new TV. $300 would pay for 5 months of my Cable TV & high speed internet service. $300 pays for 1 year of hockey for one of my kids.